Tin Planter

Here’s an idea – use tins as planters to brighten up an empty trellis..
I had a Clipper tea tin off my mum, so I took the lid off and punched holes in the bottom with a hammer and nail.

   
  

Then put some grit in the bottom (two handfuls to be not-precise), and filled the rest with regular compost. The thing is, you want a certain amount of water retention if you don’t want to be watering every single day, and the smaller the vessel the more often it’ll need watering. I work from home so it’s no bother for me – in fact with my long work hours it’s good to have a solid excuse to spend a few minutes every day/couple of days outside. You can buy water retaining granules though, if this is easier for you.

  
Anyway, next put some plants in – this one has two tiny lobelia plugs and three sweet pea ones. It’s been out for about a week now and is already looking lush and happy. 

  
The next bit couldn’t be easier – simply use the holes where the tin lid was attached to put S hooks through, then go hang your tin wherever you fancy. And then go ask family and friends for more leftover tins!

 
A week later, it’s looking lush, and I’m thinking I need to take one of the lobelias back out. 

  

Leave a comment